Mixed Berry Muffins

I woke up on Saturday morning with a hankering for fresh muffins chock full of every kind of berry imaginable. I’d never even had a mixed berry muffin before (always just standard blueberry) so I had no idea if strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries would play nice in muffin batter, but it turns out, it works. Like, really REALLY well. It didn’t hurt that I topped them with a little cinnamon streusel either [insert heart eye emoji]. 

  

I like starting my mornings with a nutrient dense breakfast so I’m truly satiated until lunch and set up for eating healthy the rest of the day, so you’ll notice that this recipe substitutes a lot of the sugar, flour, and oil you’d find in a normal muffin recipe for Greek yogurt, casein protein, and oats. While I wouldn’t go so far as to call these muffins a superfood, they’ve got some pretty impressive macros for how truly delicious they are.

  

Mixed Berry Muffins

Note: this recipe is designed for high altitude. (I live at 6,000 feet in Colorado.) If you live closer to sea level I have a few recommended changes to make this recipe best for you.

Preheat oven to 400 F. Grease or line 2 standard-size muffin tin pans.

Blend or whisk the following wet ingredients together:

2/3 c Greek yogurt (I used Fage 2%) *At low altitude: use closer to 1/2 c

2 eggs

Scant 1/2 c canola, vegetable, or coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

Then mix in:

1 tsp baking soda *At low altitude: 2 tsp

1/2 tsp salt

Scant, hard-packed 1/2 c light brown sugar

Scant 1/4 c sugar *At low altitude: 1/3 c

In a separate bowl, combine:

1/2 c flour (At high altitude I highly recommend Hungarian High Altitude Flour; at low altitudes, standard white flour is perfect.)

1/2 c plain casein protein  (^See note below. If you don’t have casein, you can use a 1/2 c of flour instead.)

1 c old-fashioned oats (I don’t recommend instant/quick oats; the texture won’t be right.)

Add dry ingredients to your wet mix until fully incorporated. Do not over mix.

In a separate bowl, mix:

1.5 c mixed berries (I used a frozen mix of blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, & strawberries. Fresh would be lovely too. Slice or quarter your strawberries before adding.)

2 Tbsp flour (If you don’t coat your berries in flour before incorporating into the batter they have a tendency to sink.)

Fold your berry mixture into the batter. Divide batter into muffin tins, fill 3/4 of the way. I recommend filling every other cup so that both of your muffin pans have an even dispersal of batter. If you forget to do that, just fill the empty muffin tins in the more empty pan halfway full of tap water before putting it in the oven. This will help prevent the muffins in the more empty pan from baking too quickly and scorching. 

Cinnamon Streusel Topping – I feel it is my civic duty to tell you that technically the topping is optional. But don’t skip it. Just don’t. If you do opt out (who are you?) you will probably want to add another 1/4 c of sugar to your muffins along with a healthy dash of cinnamon to boost the overall flavor. Just saying.

In a small bowl, mix:

Loose 1/3 c brown sugar

Scant 1/3 c flour

1 tsp cinnamon

Use a fork to mix in:

2 Tbsp melted butter until a crumbly topping forms. 

Sprinkle a little (or a lot of) streusel on top of each muffin. You can go crazy here if you want; I had a little leftover.

FINALLY, bake for 20-22 minutes. Incessantly turning on your oven light to check on the muffins’ progress is optional. Recipe yields 14-15 muffins.

  

Pair with a hot cup of coffee, green tea, or a frosty mug of milk. Enjoy these muffins warm for utmost satisfaction!

^Why Casein Protein?

Since this is the first recipe I’m posting on my blog, I wanted to quickly share with you what casein protein is because I bake with it frequently & you’ll see it on here often. If you don’t have any or don’t care to use it, just know that you can always substitute the exact amount I call for with more flour. I’ll go into greater detail about baking with protein in a future post, but in a nutshell, casein is a slow-digesting cow’s milk-derived protein. It’s a GREAT way to sneak some protein into baked goods that are typically lackluster in that macronutrient while simultaneously helping to reduce the amount of simple carbs (white flour) in your batter. Casein can only be substituted for a maximum of 1/2 the flour called for in a recipe, otherwise you’ll wind up with a super chewy, not fluffy, slightly bitter and protein-powder tasting shadow of a baked good. No bueno. I always use Naked Casein. There’s absolutely nothing added to it & it’s sourced from non-GMO cows. 

  

P.S. The brands I recommend here are just brands that I love and think you should know about. I’m not endorsed or compensated by these companies in any way.

Leave a Reply

