Fertility Tests: MRI

After my HSG confirmed my unicornuate uterus I was super anxious to get my MRI so I could see what variation it takes. 

 
From the testing I’ve had, I know that both of my ovaries are functioning (confirmed via ultrasound) and there is no communication with the rudimentary horn (confirmed via HSG) so based on the above chart, I know I either fall in the “B” or “D” category. If I’m a “B” it means that my rudimentary (non-functioning) horn doesn’t have an endometrial lining and I for sure can’t get pregnant from the right-hand side. The “D” scenario means that my non-communicating horn is still technically a functioning part of my uterus and it would be possible to get pregnant in that rudimentary horn via transperitoneal migration of sperm. Getting pregnant in that horn nearly always (90% of the time, according to the research I’ve read) results in spontaneous rupture of the uterus before full term pregnancy can be achieved. This is extremely dangerous. If I do fall into the “D” camp I will have to go in for laparoscopic surgery to have the non-communicating right-hand side removed so I eliminate the possibility of getting pregnant in that horn of the uterus. There’s also an option “E” which is the possibility of not having a unicornuate uterus but rather, a septate uterus in which surgery could remove the septum between the two sides and restore full, normal functionality. All said, I’m praying & rooting hard for option B or E.

A day after my HSG my fertility doctor ordered my MRI and I got it scheduled very quickly, to my delight. I went in for the MRI early on a Monday morning and was super impressed by the facility. Who knew imaging centers were so ritzy?! The MRI technician was a super nice guy who made sure I was comfortable. I got snuggled into the MRI machine with a blanket since the room was chilly and was offered headphones to listen to my choice of Pandora station (Brandi Carlisle, please.)

I was told my MRI would last about 20 minutes and to hold very still, but to breathe normally. The whole experience was pretty relaxing, though I have to admit I found myself nervous to breathe too deeply for fear of distorting the images, especially since we were focused on the abdomen area. The whirs, clicks, taps, and jackhammer thuds of the MRI machine were pretty fascinating, and the tech spoke through my headphones to let me know each time he was getting ready to start another series of images and how long they would take. There were six series of images taken in total. The first lasted 15 seconds, the second was 2 minutes, the third was 3 minutes, and the final three images each lasted 2.5 minutes.

To my disappointment, I wasn’t given any indication of what the images revealed since the imaging center was simply performing the MRI for the doctor who ordered it. Before I left I was handed a DVD of images and told that my fertility doctor would receive a written report of the findings, and that I should take my disc of images to my next fertility appointment. I was able to schedule my follow-up fertility consultation with my doctor for three days post-MRI, but apparently that was still too long for me to wait because later that night I found myself popping the disc of images into my laptop and squinting at them for over an hour. How I convinced myself that I was competent enough to try to decipher my own MRI images is beyond me. I did finally come to my senses though, and now I’m (im)patiently waiting for Thursday. 

One thought on “Fertility Tests: MRI

Leave a Reply

