Fertility Tests: MRI Follow-up

After waiting for what felt like an eternity between my Monday MRI and Thursday follow-up appointment, I finally found myself anxiously waiting in my fertility doctor’s office.

When he came in the room he slid a piece of paper across the desk to me and fell into his office chair. “Well,” he said, wasting no time in jumping right to the diagnosis, “you don’t have a functioning endometrium in your right horn, or even much evidence of a rudimentary right horn at all. Nor do you have a septum.” He continued on but in my head I was like, Hang on, can we take a moment to pause right here & say hallelujah?! That means I don’t need surgery to remove the right side of my uterus!?!! “So, that means we can move right along to getting you pregnant.”

I left his office finally feeling like we’re making progress instead of just running tests. I couldn’t be more excited. Next steps look something like this:

  • When my next period starts (in roughly 2 weeks’ time), I’ll call into the fertility office and schedule an ultrasound for cycle day 3. 
  • At my ultrasound they’ll take a look at my ovaries and try to make an early call on which side I’ll be ovulating from that month (based on the size of the most mature follicle in each ovary). With my left side being the only functioning side, I can only get pregnant on the months I ovulate from my left ovary. Here’s to hoping my left side is a little more dominant than my right over the coming months…
  • On cycle day 3 I’ll start taking a dose of Femara (letrozole) for 3-5 days.
  • I’ll come back into my fertility clinic on cycle day 12 for another ultrasound to check on the progress of my follicles. If I’ll for sure be ovulating from the left hand side, they’ll do a trigger shot to induce ovulation. (Otherwise, we wait until the next cycle & repeat the process.)
  • We’ll follow the trigger shot with an ultrasound-guided IUI (intrauterine insemination), where they place a sperm washed dose of hubby’s sperm (sperm washing separates the viable sperm – those with the correct morphology and mobility – from the the not so good ones) inside my uterus via catheter.
  • After the IUI I’ll be put on a dose of both progesterone and estrogen.
  • The infamous two week wait (TWW) begins. 
  • Pray I get pregnant!

Assuming I don’t get preggers on the first go, we’ll do up to three rounds of IUI before looking at other options. I’m praying super hard that we don’t have to consider anything else. 

Until then, I’m trying to focus on eating well, staying active, keeping my stress as low as possible, and enjoying time with friends and family. I can’t wait to get started…eeeek!

One thought on “Fertility Tests: MRI Follow-up

Leave a Reply

